I have a nice #16 Randall Made Knife that I like to use (mostly I cut pizza for my kids at Costco), but it is a bit awkward to wear. More precisely, it is a bit awkward to sit down while wearing it because my hips and the knife sheath do not bend at the same place. A friend helped me out by making a nice leather drop leg adapter.

I did not need much, just to lower the sheath four to six inches. We designed the adapter to snap over a 1.5″ belt and also to cant the knife a small amount. The end result is a beautiful leather piece that lowers the sheath to just the right point, so when I sit down, the sheath bends, and the knife follows the contours of my leg.

The knife does not bounce around on my leg, and the sheath does not ride up when I draw out the knife. The lower positioning also makes it easier to draw the knife. Some of you may have tried drawing out a knife when the handle already seems like a blade-length away from your armpit—a tricky prospect indeed.

The adapter is about 6″ long and 2.5″ wide. The forward cant (for a right-handed person) is just right. The leather is a stout 3/6″ thick.